//
you're reading...
Jessica Stewart

“Don’t Yuck My Yum.”

I heard a quote from a very wise 5-year old one time, and it is the title of this blog. Kelley Foltz’s daughter, Bailey, stated this to her sisters as they made fun of her for a “weird” food combination.

“Hey! Don’t yuck my yum.”

My gosh, that girl is going to do great things in her life. How profound for a 5-year old to say that, be completely sure of herself, and continue on eating the food combo instead of shying away and never eating said combination again. My aunt once told my broccoli was so gross that she wouldn’t eat it. I sure as heck stopped eating broccoli too, until my mom forced me to; I wasn’t as confident as Bailey is for her age.

We all like and are influenced by different things. Our perception of what is right or socially acceptable usually wins out but those select few that can stand by their desires deserve a pat on the back.

There may be something that is delicious to you (ice cream) and maybe something that is delicious to someone else (brussel sprouts). Why, why, why would one make the statement of, “Eww, that’s so gross!!” to another person? And if you’re saying, “Because it is” then you, my friend, are part of the problem.

There seems to be a trend to look down upon someone else when they aren’t doing the things that you are doing, whether it is eating, working out, outside activities, etc. Why are we bringing people down instead of encouraging them? Why do we have the misconception that whatever you’re doing is the best and ONLY way to lose weight/eat healthy/be amazing/etc? Because it worked for you doesn’t mean it will work for others.

It’s kind of crazy but not one particular way is best for eating/weight loss/exercise. It has been proven that many types of diets from all around the world all have a very high success rate when keeping weight at a certain level and being overall healthy. In Alaska the diet is quite different from those of the Mediterranean. So who is right? Which diet is better?

Neither. They both are great. They both can fit to their specific culture and environment.

So what is better, CrossFit or steady-state running? Functional training or spinning classes? Purre barre or kickboxing?

If I like one better than the other, am I stupid? Am I insane for wanting to challenge my skills? Am I weird if I want to lift heavy weight or if I am on the elliptical for an hour every day?

DON’T YUCK SOMEONE ELSE’S YUM. That is not what the fitness industry is about. You may say, “Well, there is substantial research out there saying that CrossFit is better to gain muscle than to be on the elliptical”. Uhh, who said that man over there wants to build muscle?

You have no idea what each person’s goals and dreams are. More importantly you have no idea their injuries, medical issues, medications they’re taking, and past exercise history.

As trainers working with clients, we do have a greater understanding of those things just mentioned. So when you say, “OH, come on!!! You can RUN!!” how about you stop and take a second to realize, you have NO idea what is going on with that person. Leave it to us, the trainers that have done evaluations and consults with everyone.

I get a lot of great feedback from members on most everything. Most people are very encouraging and positive when it comes to a certain undertaking. But then again, in this very big, vast world, there are a lot of people who are not nearly as positive. They are yucking up everyone’s yums. Usually it is the people who are not happy with their results and cannot muster up the enthusiasm to get their self on track.

So I’d like you to take a step back and think about yourself. Are you encouraging other people’s “yums” or are you criticizing them? Do the same cue words demonstrate positivity to you but usually not to others?

For example, I am not particularly fond of being called ‘insane’ or ‘crazy’.

Me: I’m just trying to increase my strength at this point in my life.

Someone else: Well, I think you’re insane. You’re strong enough.

YOU WHAT?! You think I’m insane for working towards a goal? Working towards a goal that is obviously important to me. And I’m strong enough? What’s enough? Who makes the marker for enough strength?

Everyone is fighting his or her own battle. Everyone has likes and dislikes. Everyone does not agree with each other. And that is okay but do not take the point to make someone else feel bad because of his or her choices in food/working out/car preference/hair color/workout clothes/etc.

Thank you, Bailey Foltz, because you have taught me so much in that one statement.

Don’t yuck my yum, or anyone else’s for that matter.

yuckmyyum

About Jessica Stewart

Jessica is a 2011 graduate from Michigan State University with a Bachelors of Science in Kinesioloy specializing in Exercise Science. She is a certified personal trainer through the National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM). Jessica completed her MSU internship at State of Fitness in the Spring of 2011. Under the supervision and guidance of Justin Grinnell and Rebecca Klinger, Jessica gained valuable experience in training clients. Jessica is a long-distance runner, completing many road races ranging from 5k to marathon. This October the Chicago marathon will be her third 26.2 mile race. Jessica played varsity soccer and volleyball throughout high school. She has also completed triathlons and adventure races. Having a passion for an active and healthy lifestyle led Jessica to join the State of Fitness team! She hopes to pass on her love for fitness onto all of her clients.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Tell us what you think!

SOF Authors

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.